At your service...

HiSET programs is at your service.
Contact us via email or call us in.state toll.free between 9:00am and 5:00pm MT at 1.888.231.9393, Local 406.444.3095

MAIN CONTACTS

SECONDARY CONTACTS

Loading
 

Montana High School Equivalency Assessment

Montana LINCS - Click Here to Learn About Montana Adult Basic and Literacy Education. You will find a lot of information on the new high school equivalency test (HiSET) in the email archives.

ETS HiSET logoThe Montana ETS HiSET® is a battery of tests which measures a student's academic skills as compared to a high school graduate. If passed, a Montana High School Equivalency Diploma is issued which is accepted by institutions of higher education and employers as equivalent to a regular high school diploma.

 
2 women graduating
Montana HSE Program
Office of Public Instruction
PO Box 202501
1300 11th Avenue.
Helena MT 59620-2501
406.444.4438

HiSET Test-Taker Information

What Are The Tests?Graduate
The HiSET tests are five tests in the areas of writing skills, social studies, science, literature and the arts,and mathematics. The questions in each of these tests require you to use general knowledge and thinking skills. Few questions ask about facts, details, and definitions. The HiSET tests are designed to measure the important knowledge and skills, usually learned during four years of high school, that you may have obtained in a different manner.

Waiver of Minimum Age Requirement:
Applicants 16 years of age, under special circumstances, may apply for a waiver provided following criteria can be documented:

  1. Completed, signed, and notarized 16 year old Waiver Application Form with required school documentation attached demonstrating consensus of applicant, school officials, and applicant's parent/legal guardian that the HiSET program is considered in the best interest of applicant.
  2. Original letter, on official letterhead, signed by Adult Basic Education (ABE) Director certifying applicant has been enrolled in HiSET classes and is academically prepared for the HiSET test.
  3. Letter of documentation, on official letterhead, establishing applicant's need to obtain a HiSET at age 16 from one of the following: higher education admissions officer or employer requiring HiSET.

Method of Applying:
Applicants must meet minimum age and residency requirements. Applications for testing must be completed at nearest official HiSET Testing Center; photo identification and proof of age are required.

Cost of the Test:
Testing at Official HiSET Testing Centers costs $50.00. The $50.00 covers the cost of the test and up to three retakes, and is good for one year. When you report to the test center you may be charged an additional test center fee; $15 for a complete test battery, 6 for a retest or $2 for an individual subtest.

Frequently Asked Questions for HiSET Test-Takers

clear

How to Prepare?
Many adult education programs sponsored by local school districts, colleges, and even community organizations, provide the instruction you may need for the tests. You can talk to the teachers at these adult education programs to decide whether you need to study for all of the tests. Libraries and bookstores also carry HiSET study materials.

clear

A Request for a Duplicate Transcript must be sent to the following address:*
HSE PROGRAM OFFICE OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION
PO BOX 202501
HELENA, MT 59620.2501

Transcript Request Form

*There is no charge for an Official HiSET Transcript
* No FAX requests accepted
*No duplicate diplomas

HiSET Testing Centers in Montana

*AE: Alternate Examiner
*AS: Addendum Site

BILLINGS


Mary Enright
Adult Education Center
415 N 30th St
Billings MT 59101.1252
406.281.5007
enrightm@billings.k12.mt.us

BOZEMAN

Wendy Rivers
P.O. Box 17290
MSU 243 Reid Hall
Bozeman MT 59717
406.994.6984
FAX: 994.1854
Carla McLaughlin
carlam@montana.edu

BOZEMAN

Byrdeen Warwood
404 W Main
Bozeman MT 59715
406.522.6012
byrdeen.warwood@bsd7.org

BROWNING

Albert Still Smoking
Blackfeet Community College
HiSET Test Center
PO Box 819
Browning MT 59434
406.338.5411
FAX: 338.3272
alws@bfcc.edu

BUTTE

Margie Pascoe
Montana Tech of the UM
1300 W Park St
Butte MT 59701
406.496.4477 (4101)
FAX: 496.4757
mpascoe@mtech.edu

Deer Lodge:MSP

Val Ericson
500 Conley Lake Rd
Deer Lodge, MT 59722
(406)846.1320 x 2360
vericson@mt.gov

DILLON

Ilene Cohen
Western MT College
710 S Atlantic
Dillon MT 59725.3598
406.683.7143
FAX: 683.7493
i_cohen@umwestern.edu

GLASGOW

Mike Hughes
NE MT Job Svc Workforce Ctr
74 4th Street N
Glasgow, MT 59201
228.9369
mihughes@mt.gov

Malta

Mike Hughes
Malta City Hall
29 2nd Ave
East Malta, MT 59538
228.9369
mihughes@mt.gov

Plentywood

Mike Hughes
Sheridan County Courthouse
100 West Laurel
Plentywood, MT 59254
228.9369
mihughes@mt.gov

GLENDIVE

Jolene Myers
Dawson Community College
PO Box 421
Glendive MT 59330
406.377.3396
FAX: 377.8132
myers@dawson.cc.mt.us

GREAT FALLS

Jodi Christian
Great Falls HiSET Testing Center
2100 16th St S
Great Falls MT 59405
406.268.6660
FAX: 268.6603
Jodi_christian@gfps.k12.mt.us

HAMILTON

Rod Meuchel
Hamilton High School
327 Fairgrounds Road
Hamilton MT 59840
406.381.2620
FAX: 375.6076
meuchelr@hsd3.org

HARDIN

Jerry Guay
Hardin Public Schools
585 W John Deere Rd
Hardin MT 59034
406.665.9391
FAX: 665.6399
Jerry.guay@hardin.k12.mt.us

HAVRE

Andi Daniel
District IV HRDC
2229 5th Ave
Havre MT 59501
(406)265.6743
FAX: (406)265.1312
daniela@hrdc4.org

Harlem

Andi Daniel
Aaniih Nakota College
Wiyukja Wicoti Bldg.
Harlem, MT 59501
265.6743
FAX: 265.1312
daniela@hrdc4.org

HELENA

Frank Jobe
Adult Learning Center - UM Helena
1115 Roberts Street
Helena MT 59601
406.324.1632
FAX: 324.2155
fjobe@helena.k12.mt.us

KALISPELL

Margaret Girkins
Flathead Valley Comm College
777 Grandview Drive
Kalispell MT 59901
406.756.3884
FAX: 756.3911
mgirkins@fvcc.edu

LIBBY

Margaret Girkins
Lincoln Co Campus FVCC
225 Commerce Way
Libby MT 59923.3002
406.293.2721
FAX: 293.5112
mgirkins@fvcc.edu

LAME DEER

Audrey Arpan
Chief Dull Knife Memorial College
PO Box 98
Lame Deer MT 59043
406.477.6215 x 128
FAX: 477.6219
aarpan@cdkc.edu

LEWISTOWN

Diane Oldenburg
Central MT Ed Center
PO Box 1144
773 Airport Rd
Lewistown MT 59457
406.535.5570
FAX: 535.5578
doldenburg@lewistown.k12.mt.us

LIVINGSTON

Cassie Burns
Community Health Partners
126 S Main
Livingston, MT 59047
(406)222.111
FAX: (406)823.6358
burnsc@chphealth.org

MILES CITY

Erin Niedge
Miles Community College
2715 Dickinson
Miles City MT 59301
406.874.6150
FAX: 874.6282
niedgee@milescc.edu

MISSOULA

Monique Fortmann
Dickinson Lifelong Learning Center
310 S Curtis
Missoula MT 59801
406.549.8765
FAX: 523.4000
mfortmann@mcps.k12.mt.us

PABLO

Sharon Rosenbaum
Salish Kootenai College
PO Box 70
Pablo MT 59855
406.275.4800
FAX: 275.4805
pfiremoon@fpcc.edu

POPLAR

Paula Firemoon
Fort Peck Community College
PO Box 389
Poplar, MT 59255
406.768.6345
FAX: 768.6301
rmason@fpcc.edu

SHELBY

Matt Genger
Shelby Administration Building
1010 Oilfield Ave
Shelby MT 59474
406.434.2622 #3
FAX: 434.2959
Matt.genger@shelby.k12.mt.us

Montana HiSET Option Program

ETS High School Equivalency Test (HiSET™) is a national testing program that will launch in January 2014. The HiSET™ program will provide an accessible, affordable alternative to the HiSET® test for states, educators, test takers and test center administrators.

The Montana HiSET Option Program (MHOP) is designed to be a part of a high school curriculum that provides another pathway for students to obtain a high school diploma. Montana HiSET Option Program students are a group of students who have the capabilities to complete high school but are behind in the credits needed to graduate with their class and are at risk of leaving school without a high school diploma. This program allows those students who meet the requirements an opportunity to stay in school and graduate with their class.

What is the Montana HiSET Option Program (MHOP)?
Frequently Asked Questions About the MHOP
Options Program: Interim Solution for Student Registration
Option Program: Permission to Test Waiver DRAFT
Profile Creation

Vouchers