Office of the Superintendent

Six Montana teachers recognized for achieving national board certification

Monday, October 31, 2011, 5:19 pm

This fall, Superintendent Denise Juneau will present stipends to six Montana teachers who have achieved certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Each teacher will receive a $3,000 stipend in recognition of their professional achievement under a program authorized by the Montana legislature in 2001. The six teachers are:

·         Sara Childers, Ruder Elementary School, Columbia Falls Elementary District

·         Charles McCurdy, Anaconda High School

·         Margaret Kimmet, Hardin Intermediate School, Hardin Elementary District

·         Katherine Cordes, Billings Senior High School

·         Margaret Aukshun, Billings West High School

·         Lawrence McMullen, Billings Senior High School


Recognition ceremonies were held in Columbia Falls and Anaconda in September and October. Ceremonies are planned for November in Hardin (November 15) and Billings (tentatively scheduled for November 15). Please join Superintendent Juneau in congratulating these Montana educators for their commitment to professional growth and teaching excellence.

For more information, contact Madalyn Quinlan, 406-444-3168