Department of Education Services

Montana Students Selected for the U.S. Senate Youth Honors Scholarship Program

Tuesday, January 31, 2012, 8:36 am

The Office of Public Instruction is proud to announce that Leo J. Bird of Loyola Sacred-Heart High School and Carter R. Wilkinson of Bozeman High School will represent Montana as delegates for the 2012 U.S. Senate Youth Scholarship Program, the 50th anniversary of the program.  Colby A. Morris of Hellgate High School and Allison M. Sawyer of Loyola Sacred-Heart High School were selected as alternates.


During the week of March 3-10, 2012, Leo and Carter will be immersed in an intensive on-site study of federal government.  Visits to the Senate, House of Representatives, Supreme Court and the Pentagon will be interspersed with hours at various Smithsonian museums.  They will hear major policy addresses by senators, cabinet members, officials of the Departments of State and others.


Each year two outstanding high school juniors or seniors from each state are selected to receive an all-expense-paid week in Washington, D.C. and a $5,000 college scholarship, funded by The Hearst Foundations.


We join their families, friends and teachers in congratulating all four of these outstanding high school students on this achievement!


For more information, contact Carol Gneckow, 406-444-2417