Three Montana Schools Recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools

Monday, September 19, 2011
By Allyson Hagen

Three Montana Schools Recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools

Helena, Mont. — Superintendent Denise Juneau today congratulated three Montana schools who were awarded the 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award.

The U.S. Department of Education announced the awards late last week. The schools receiving the honor are Cold Springs School in Missoula, Plentywood School in Plentywood, and Russell Elementary School in Missoula.

"These Montana schools and communities serve as national models based upon their success," said Superintendent Juneau. "The educators, parents and students in these communities deserve to be commended for their commitment to academic achievement for all students.”

The Blue Ribbon Schools program honors elementary and secondary schools that made significant progress in closing the achievement gap or whose students achieve at very high levels. Schools are selected by meeting either of two criteria:

1. Schools whose students, regardless of backgrounds, are in the top 10 percent of schools in the state as measured by state tests.

2. Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that close the achievement gap, improving student performance to high levels.

The U.S. Department of Education will honor the 256 public and 49 private schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and awards ceremony Nov. 14-15 in Washington, D.C. Since 1982, more than 6,500 of America's schools have received this award. 

School contacts:

Webb Harrington, Principal
Cold Springs School
Telephone:  (406) 542-4010

Rob Pedersen, Principal
Plentywood School
Telephone:  (406) 765-1195

Cindy Christensen, Principal
Russell Elementary School
Telephone:  (406) 542-4080
A list of the 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools is available at:


Back to Media Center Home Page